Uncategorized

Why I’m Smiling – Week One

Why I’m Smiling – Week One

Fighting anxiety and depression is hard. That about sums it up. You’re always told to be positive and remember the good things about life. That’s hard too. I did try to write in my journal every day but I have the discipline of a duck. Which is to say, none.

So I present my new challenge: a post each week, summarising all the things I enjoy and things that make me happy 🙂

  1. Easter Bonnet Competition

A strange thing to be pleased with, I grant you, but I entered the Easter Bonnet competition in work. As I’m sure many creatives understand, sometimes you get stuck in a rut and you’ll do anything to get out. For that reason, I turned my creative ideas to designing a bonnet, rather than staring at a blank page for hours.

I soon realised why I had a D in GSCE Art and remembered that ideas in my head never look the same in reality. I cut and I stuck and I coloured till 1am but I still ended up with something a child would have made. And I am damn proud of that.

I didn’t give up on it and I didn’t let the voice in my head ruin what I had created. While I criticised what I had done, it was with the knowledge that being rubbish at bonnet making was not going to bring me down or ruin my future. Enthusiasm can take you a long way and, as the saying goes, practice makes perfect, right?

  1. Defeating the Claw!

Rather than stay in my house after work, I accompanied my friends to the arcade where we ate a pathetic portion of cheesy chips and spent far too much money on machines. But it all worked out well for me because I won! And not just one Power Ranger, BUT TWO! Achievement unlocked.

  1. Book of Dreams

Writing isn’t just writing. It’s editing and re-reading and research and it’s the last one I struggle with. So, to practice, I’ve decided to research some my favourite games and TV shows and start from there. So my payday treat was what is considered to be, an excellent guide to the series that was sadly, short-lived. The one and only Firefly.

Just look at the size of that thing! Was definitely not expecting a book so big. I’m so excited to get my nose into it, to go through the pages and behind the scenes. The only thing is, it’s too big and heavy for my bookshelves…

  1. Smear Results

Okay women, let’s be honest. No one likes a smear. It’s uncomfortable and kinda weird. But, as someone who has experienced cancer, it’s nowhere near as bad as chemotherapy. That fact is why I am actually pleased and consider myself lucky that I live in a country that offers them to women and promotes the benefits of the smear. And I encourage every woman eligible to take advantage of that. Five minutes of discomfort is worth it in the long run. Especially when you receive that wonderful letter in the mail which says your results are normal. Pretty much the first time someone has used that word to describe me and I love it.

  1. Dylan Day Poetry!

There once was a poet named Dylan,

Who wrote about his feelings.

He came from Swansea and

The world loves his poetry

Because it is actually

Pretty decent.

Before you say anything, I know my rhyming skills aren’t as good as Dylan Thomas. ‘Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night’ is evidence of this. Doesn’t mean I can’t celebrate him though! Today I spent some time in 200 Degrees, the new coffee shop on Queen Street (great mochas and awesome turkey pesto sandwiches, even if there was an orange vegetable in there I couldn’t quite work out!) I was with one of my writer friends, Mab Jones, who’s in charge of the Dylan Day event (May 14th, check it out! http://www.literaturewales.org/our-projects/international-dylan-thomas-day/) We cut up some card and wrote some words and discussed the meaning of life and how difficult it was to write a novel. A truly pleasant afternoon, finishing off with my first cut-out poem.

One thought on “Why I’m Smiling – Week One

  1. Ah I’m so glad you joined in with this! It can be super difficult to remember what you’re happy and grateful for, especially if you struggle with mental health, but I think that those are the times where it’s most important to do this. So pleased you did! Your Easter bonnet looks awesome; I get that creative feeling too but my bonnet would have been a total eyesore compare to yours haha. And WELL DONE for defeating the claw, I didn’t actually think that was possible haha. Don’t forget to add your link to the link-up on my site so that we can share your happiness! Look forward to reading your happiness posts again soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

