Article · Motivation · Personal · Writing

Consistency…the lack of.

My mind is full of ideas. And projects. And words. Heck it’s even full of one-liners I look for the perfect opportunity to use and never realise until the time has been and gone. I’m constantly on the lookout for inspiration, innovation and ice cream. Problem is, I see something I want, pick it up, see something else and then pick that up. My hands are either too full or empty. This theory is proven by the three tubs of half eaten ice cream in my freezer.

I never stop and I never finish a project. You know the story about the hare and the tortoise? I’m the hare except when I wake up from my nap, I go bouncing in the other direction and completely forget what I was doing originally. Even as I sit here I’m looking at one of my ever-present notebooks and I’m thinking, now would be a good time to finish that other article I was writing. Oh, a bird!

I have tried to discipline my brain. In the nicest possible way, not with corporal punishment. I’ve chosen a topic, set myself a goal and sat down to it, doing well the first week, even possibly the second. Then it goes nowhere.

Like this blog. Where are my regular posts about everything I planned to regularly post about?

My answer to this conundrum is to do exactly what my brain wants to do. Different things! But consistently! Below are the four things that are going to help me.

IMG_20170716_164528.jpg

  • My Passion Planner which I finally opened and began to use. Missing deadlines, appointments and everything else is going to be a thing of the past!
  • My Mind Map – as long as I’m working towards one of the goals on that then I know I’m going in the right direction.
  • 642 Things to Write About – an awesome birthday present off my parents. These are little prompts I can work on and post bi-monthly to keep my blog going and my pen flowing.
  • Magnetic Poetry Kit – a bi-monthly challenge in which I’ll select a certain amount of words and make a poem and publish it. Gives me the courage to trust in my work and cuts out some anxiety about making every word perfect.

On with the show!

Leave a Reply

